Yakima County

      Yakima County, Washington was formed January 21, 1865 from Walla Walla County. When the county was first formed it also contained parts of Benton County and Kittitas County. Kittitas County was formed in 1883 out of the northern part of Yakima County. Benton County was formed in 1905 out of the eastern part of Yakima County and part of Klickitat County. The Yakima County Auditor has the birth and death records from 1891 to 1907, the marriage records from 1880 to the present and the land records. The Yakima County Clerk has the probate records, the divorce records and the court records from 1882 to the present.


Yakima County Auditor

128 N. 2nd Street

Room 117

Yakima, Washington 98901



Yakima County Clerk

128 N. 2nd Street

Room 323

Yakima, Washington 98901



Yakima Valley Genealogical Society

1901 S. 12th Ave.

Union Gap, Washington 98903-1256



Yakima Public Library

102 N 3rd St.

Yakima, Washington 98901


The public library has the old Yakima newspapers on microfilm and various books on Yakima city and Yakima county history. If you are trying to locate an obituary for someone, please consult our obituary index here. to Our society may have made a copy of that record that we can send you.


Tahoma Cemetery

Cemetery located at 1802 Tahoma Ave., Yakima, Washington

Office located at 2301 Fruitvale Blvd., Yakima, Washington

Office phone number: 509-575-6026


Calvary Cemetery

1405 S. 24th Ave.

Yakima, Washington 98902



Terrace Height Memorial Park

3001 Terrace Height Drive

Yakima, Washington 98901



West Hills Memorial Park

11800 Douglas Road

Yakima, Washington 98908



Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakima Nation

Main Agency Offices

401 Fort Road

Toppenish, Washington 98948